Connect with us
Breaking News

National News

Congress to elect new President in 2022, chorus growing for Rahul Gandhi



 The Congress is going to elect a new president in 2022 and the schedule for the next election is out. The Congress election committee is preparing for polls from the block level to the party president and the elections for the working committee, the CWC, which is the highest decision making body of the party.

The Congress leaders are saying that Rahul Gandhi will be the next president of the party as the leaders are unanimous on the name. In the last working committee meeting all the leaders were unanimous on his name while some were quiet but did not oppose his candidature.

The Congress Working Committee members have appealed many times to Rahul Gandhi to take over as the president of the party, but he has been reluctant. Senior Congress leader Ambika Soni said, “all the members were unanimous that Rahul Gandhi should take over as president of the Congress party.” The CWC has given the go ahead to the internal elections of the party.

But nobody knows whether Rahul Gandhi is willing to take over as president as he has been refusing to take over after he resigned following the poll debacle in 2019.

The G-23 has been critical of the party leadership for sitting idle and waiting for loss after loss and wanted efforts for the revival of the party. Interim president Sonia Gandhi responding to their calls said that, “The entire organisation wants a revival of the Congress. But this requires unity and keeping the party’s interests paramount. Above all, it requires self-control and discipline. I am acutely conscious of the fact that I have been interim Congress President ever since the CWC asked me to return in this capacity in 2019.”

The CWC had approved the organisational elections and the schedule has been decided. The enrolment of members for organisational elections on payment of Rs 5 each, started from November 1, 2021 and will end on March 31, 2022.

The District Congress Committees will publish a preliminary list of members together with the list of eligible contestants for participation in the elections. This list will be published before April 15, 2022.

The election of the president and Executive of the Primary Committees and Block Committees, and the election of the Block Presidents and Executive Committees and one member of the PCC by the Block Congress Committee will be held from April 16, 2022 to May 31, 2022.

The election of President, Vice President, Treasurer and Executive Committee of the DCCs will be held from June 1, 2022 to July 20, 2022.

The election of PCC President, Vice President, Treasurer and PCC Executive and AICC Members by the PCC general body will take place from July 21, 2022 to August 20, 2022.

The election of the AICC president will be held from August 21, 2022 to September 20, 2022.

The election of CWC members and other bodies by AICC members during the preliminary session (date to be announced later) will preferably be held in September-October.


FIR against unknown person for threatening MP Navneet Rana




Delhi Police has registered an FIR against an unknown person for allegedly issuing death threats to Member of Parliament Navneet Rana, an official said on Thursday.

“An FIR has been registered at the North Avenue police station under sections 506 (punishment for criminal intimidation) and 509 (word, gesture or act intended to insult the modesty of a woman) of the Indian Penal Code,” Deputy Commissioner of Police (New Delhi district) Amrutha Guguloth said.

Rana’s Personal Assistant, Vikas Goswami, in the complaint, alleged that the parliamentarian received 11 calls on Tuesday in which the caller threatened her of dire consequences if she ever recites Hanuman Chalisa or comes to Maharashtra.

“The caller spoke to her very rudely and in a very inappropriate manner. He abused her, threatened to kill her and said he won’t allow her to enter Maharashtra,” the complaint lodged in Hindi read.

He further wrote that MP Rana was extremely disturbed and scared after several threatening calls.

Meanwhile, the Delhi Police has started probing the matter, and call detail records of the parliamentarian are being examined.

Continue Reading


Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut and Sanjay Pawar file nominations for RS polls in Maharashtra




Two Shiv Sena leaders — party Chief Spokesperson Sanjay Raut and Kolhapur District Chief Sanjay Pawar — filed their nomination papers for the upcoming biennial elections to Rajya Sabha, here on Thursday.

In a major show of strength by Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), Raut and Pawar were joined by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, Congress Legislature Party chief and Minister Balasaheb Thorat, Nationalist Congress Party President Sharad Pawar, many ministers, MPs and MLAs from the three allies.

Simultaneously, the NCP has decided to renominate senior leader Praful Patel for one seat, while the Congress is yet to announce its candidate.

With Sena filing nominations for two seats, the fate of Yuvraj Chhatrapati Sambhajiraje is not clear, as he had planned to contest the RS polls independently with support of all other parties.

There are indications that Sambhajiraje may withdraw from the contest and he is likely to announce his decision here on Friday.

Speaking to mediapersons after submitting their nomination papers, Raut said that both the RS seats “belong to the Sena” and the party would bag them comfortably.

To a question, Raut said even if the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fields a third candidate, the Sena nominee would win as it has “more than the required number of votes”.

The RS elections will fill up the vacancies by six retiring members — one each from ruling (MVA) allies, Shiv Sena (Sanjay Raut), NCP (Praful Patel) and Congress (P. Chidambaram), and three from the BJP Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Piyush Goyal and Dr. Vikas Mahatme.

This time, given the re-alignment of the legislature after the 2019 Assembly elections, the BJP can win only two of the three seats it holds, the MVA can win their three seats, and Sena is now contesting the third seat held by the BJP.

The electoral college comprises the 288 MLAs and a candidate must get 42 votes to win a seat in the Upper House of Parliament.

The MVA has 170 MLAs — Shiv Sena 55 (one MLA Ramesh Latke, died in Dubai last week), NCP 53, Congress 44, smaller parties/groups 10 and eight Independents.

On the Opposition side, BJP has 106 with other smaller parties/groups two and five Independents.

Continue Reading

National News

Muslim side questions maintainability of Gyanvapi petition




The Muslim petitioners on Thursday questioned the maintainability of the Hindu side’s plea in the Gyanvapi dispute case.

As hearing began in the court of District Judge Dr A.K. Vishvesha, the Muslim lawyers cited the Places of Worship Act 1991 and claimed that the petition was not maintainable.

Abhay Yadav, the lawyer for the Muslim side, said that rumours of a ‘Shivling’ being found inside the mosque were being deliberated floated to create confusion.

He contended that the ‘Shivling’ had not yet been established by court and the court should put an end to such rumours.

Meanwhile, Vishnu Jain, lawyer for the Hindu petitioners told reporters outside the court that holes had been drilled into the ‘Shivling’ to make it look like a fountain.

Only 36 persons, including the lawyers were allowed inside the court where hearing was heard under tight security.

Hearing will continue in the case on Monday when Hindu petitioners will put up their arguments.

Continue Reading