Connect with us

National News

Unlock 4: ‘List of Metro stations for restoring services to come soon’




A list of stations where Metro travel services are being restored is being prepared and will be made public soon, the Delhi Government said on Sunday, day after the Centre allowed the service in Unlock 4.0 guideline.

After being shut for more than five months due to coronavirus or Covid-19 pandemic, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) will be resuming its services from September 7 onwards in a calibrated manner with new guidelines. Delhi Metro services have been suspended since March 22.

For the time being, the Delhi government said, no tokens will be issued to passengers due to its high risk of spreading the virus, and there will be a system of purchasing smart cards at every station and passengers will be able to travel only with smart cards.

To ensure contactless travel, digital methods will be enabled to recharge smart cards and all measures will be taken to ensure the mandatory social distance of one meter between passengers in the train, the Delhi government said.

“Marking of seats will also be done to ensure social distancing.” Also, Metro staff, additional civil defence volunteers will be deployed to ensure that the station does not get crowded. Provision of sanitizers will be made at every station and wearing a mask will be mandatory, it said.

If a passenger is found to be travelling in violation of the rules, the Delih government said, the DMRC officials and police officers deployed have been given the power to generate a challan in the name of the violating passenger.

The air condition in the coaches will be operated as per new guidelines so that there is a constant flow of fresh air in the train.

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot in a statement said he was glad that after a long wait, the people of Delhi would be able to travel by metro once again.

“We will ensure that social distancing is maintained in the Metros. Thermal screening of the passengers will be done at all the entry points. Tokens will not be issued, commuters can only use smart card and other digital methods of payment for purchasing the ticket. We will resume Metro services by following all COVID protocols so that the general public do not face any kind of difficulties.”

Resumption of Metro services will provide great relief to the public of Delhi, Gehlot said.

“In a way similar to how we successfully restored the bus services in Delhi, we will restore metro services strictly taking care of all the protocols and precautions,” the Minister added.

National News

Ex-PM Manmohan Singh and wife take Covid vax at AIIMS




Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and his wife received Covid vaccine at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) here on Thursday, officials informed IANS.

Sources said that Singh and his wife had registered through the Co-WIN portal.

The 88-year-old former Prime Minister on Thursday joined many political leaders who have received the jabs against Covid-19 which is currently rolling out to population prioritised as per age and medical conditions.

Singh was the 13th PM of India who assumed the office for two full terms under the government run by United Progressive Alliance from 2004 till 2014.

The phase three of Covid vaccination covering 27 crore above 60 and those above 45 with comorbidities began from March 1. The drive took-off with Prime Minister Narendra Modi receiving the vaccine at the AIIMS.

Since then, political leaders and celebrities have started taking the vaccination.

The previous two phases were started with the vaccination of around three crore of healthcare and frontline workers in India.

Vaccines are being provided free of charge at the government health facilities and on a payment basis in the private health facilities. All private hospitals can charge Rs 150 for vaccines and Rs 100 for service charges fixed by the central government.

As per the latest update, 1,66,16,048 (Thursday noon figure) doses of corona vaccine have been administered in the country since the drive began on January 16.

Continue Reading


Varun Dhawan and Kriti Sanon meet Arunachal Pradesh CM




Bollywood stars Varun Dhawan and Kriti Sanon met Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu before commencing the shoot for their new horror comedy “Bhediya”, along with the films unit.

Also present were Bamang Felix, Minister of Home and Interstate Affairs, Chief Secretary Naresh Kumar and Commissioner to HCM Sonam Chombay.

The Amar Kaushik directorial also features Abhishek Banerjee and Deepak Dobriyal. “Bhediya” is scripted by National Award-winner Niren Bhatt.

Jio Studios & Dinesh Vijan present, “Bhediya”, which is slated to release in cinemas on April 14, 2022.

Continue Reading

National News

Amit Shah and J.P. Nadda meet WB leaders to shortlist candidates




Initial discussion to shortlist names of the party candidates for the upcoming West Bengal Assembly polls started at BJP chief J.P. Nadda’ residence on Thursday.

Senior leaders from the state, party in-charge and co-in-charge for West Bengal were attending the meeting. Union Home Minister Amit Shah also reached Nadda’s residence.

BJP national vice president Mukul Roy, national general secretary and state in-charge Kailash Vijayvargiya, co-in-charge Arvind Menon, state unit president Dilip Ghosh, and former close aide of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and former minister Suvendu Adhikari were present in the meeting.

BJP sources said that on wednesday core committee of the West Bengal party unit shortlisted the names of the probable candidates recommended by district units.

“In the meeting going at Nadda’s residence, list of probable names will further shorten before being submitted in the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) which will select the candidates for the West Bengal polls,” he said.

The BJP’s CEC meeting is scheduled for Thursday evening in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to attend.

Sources said that in the party CEC meeting the first list of the BJP candidates for 60 Assembly constituencies will be finalised. Polling in these seats will be held in the first two phases on March 27 and April 1.

Continue Reading