Connect with us

National News

BJP names 24 candidates, Uma Bharti’s name not in the list



Uma-Bharti (1)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday released a list of 24 candidates across seven states for the Lok Sabha elections, denying tickets to 10 sitting MPs including Union Minister Uma Bharti and five-time MP from Ranchi Ram Tahal Choudhary.

The list, finalized by the BJP’s Central Election Committee, has names of eight candidates from Haryana, four each from Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Jharkhand and one each from West Bengal and Odisha.

Uma Bharti, who had announced that she would not contest the Lok Sabha polls, has been replaced in Jhansi by Anurag Sharma, the owner of Baidyanath Group.

In Uttar Pradesh, the party has also dropped Banda MP Bhairon Prasad Mishra and replaced him by R.K. Patel, while Nilam Sonkar has retained her Lalganj seat. From Phulpur, the party has fielded Keshri Devi Patel.

Among the eight candidates announced from Haryana, the party has dropped three sitting MPs and retained five.

Ratan Lal Kataria (Ambala), Ramesh Chandra Koushik (Sonipat), Union Minister Rao Indrajeet Singh (Gurgaon), Dharmveer Singh (Bhiwani-Mahendragarh) and Krishna Pal Gurjar (Faridabad) have retained their candidatures.

Ashwini Kumar, the owner of Hindi daily Punjab Kesari, has been dropped as the party candidate from Karnal. He has been replaced by Sanjay Bhatia. Raj Kumar Saini (Kurukshetra) has been replaced by Nayab Singh Saini while Suneeta Duggal has replaced Charanjeet Singh Rori (Sirsa).

In Rajasthan, three sitting MPs have been dropped. Colonel Sona Ram, who defeated former Union Minister Jaswant Singh from Barmer in 2014, has been replaced by Kailash Choudhary.

In place of Haroon Singh (Rajsamand) and Bahadur Singh Koli (Bharatpur), the party has fielded Diya Kumari and Ranjeeta Koli, respectively, while Manoj Rajuriya has retained his Karauli-Dholpur seat.

In Jharkhand, Ram Tahal Choudhary has been replaced by Sanjay Seth. Denying ticket to sitting Kodarma MP Rabindra Kumar Rai, the BJP has fielded Annapurna Devi Yadav.

In Madhya Pradesh, the Gwalior seat represented by Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar has gone to Vivek Shejwalkar. Tomar has been shifted to Morena. In Chindwara, the party has pitted Natthan Shah against Nakul Nath, son of Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath. In Dewas, the BJP has fielded Mahendra Solanki as its candidate.

For the Chindwara Assembly seat, the BJP has fielded Vivek Sah against Kamal Nath. Under electoral laws, it is mandatory for Kamal Nath to become an MLA within six months of assuming office to continue as the Chief Minister.

In West Bengal’s Purulia parliamentary constituency, the BJP has fielded Jyotirmoy Mahato, while the Jagatsinghpur seat in Odisha has gone to Bibhuti Prasad Tarai.

National News

Lalu Prasad to remain in AIIMS Delhi for treatment




Despite the Jharkhand High Court granting bail to former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Prasad, he will remain in AIIMS Delhi until he recovers fully.

Tejashwi Yadav, RJD leader and younger son of Lalu Prasad, said that he is suffering from multiple diseases and severe infection in both the kidneys.

“The Jharkhand High Court has given bail to Lalu Ji but we are extremely concerned about his health. He will undergo treatment in AIIMS Delhi. We have contacted doctors and they said that Lalu Ji has to stay in hospital. He has severe infection in both the kidneys and is also having breathing problems. He is under close monitoring of expert doctors of AIIMS,” Tejashwi said after a virtual all party meeting on the corona crisis in Patna.

“We highly appreciate the Jharkhand High Court for granting him bail. We have complete faith in the judiciary of our country. There is happiness among the people of Bihar that their idol and messiah of the poor has been released from jail,” Tejashwi said.

Anand Vij, the lawyer of Lalu Prasad, said that he was given bail on a personal bond of Rs 1 lakh. Besides, he has to pay Rs 10 lakh penalty and also surrender his passport in court.

Continue Reading

National News

Covid surge: Hazrat Nizamuddin dargah closed till April 30




The management of Hazrat Nizamuddin Auliya Dargah has decided to close the dargah for devotees till April 30 in view of the unprecedented rise in Covid cases in the national capital. During this period, devotees will neither be allowed to chant at the dargah nor enter inside the tomb.

Qashif Nizami, general secretary of the Nizamuddin Dargah Committee, told IANS, “Corona cases are increasing rapidly in Delhi. A number of restrictions are being imposed by the government to prevent further infections. Weekend curfew on Saturday and Sunday has been clamped. People come from all over the country to the dargah, so there is a risk of infection.”

He said, “Precaution is very important to avoid infections. People should wear mask as well as follow social distancing norms. The dargah has been closed till April 30 for the safety of the people. Entry to the dargah will be forbidden. If the current situation prevails even after April 30, the dargah will be closed further.”

Covid cases in the national capital have been rising rapidly with 19,486 infections recorded in the last 24 hours. At least 141 people died in Delhi in the same time span.

Continue Reading

National News

India’s 10 states report 86% deaths; Maharashtra, Delhi on top




India’s 10 states on Saturday accounted for 85.83 per cent of the new deaths in which Maharashtra, Delhi and Chhattisgarh reported more than half of the total number registered in the last 24 hours.

A total of 1,341 deaths were reported in the last 24 hours, Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) said on Saturday.

Maharashtra saw the maximum casualties (398) followed by Delhi (141), Chhattisgarh 138, Uttar Pradesh (103), Gujarat (94), Karnataka (78), Madhya Pradesh (60), Jharkhand (56), Punjab (50) and Tamil Nadu (33).

Fortunately, nine states and union territories (UTs) have not reported any Covid-19 death in the last 24 hours. These are Ladakh (UT), D&D & D&N, Tripura, Sikkim, Mizoram, Manipur, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Arunachal Pradesh.

Meanwhile, India’s total active caseload has reached 16,79,740. It now comprises 11.56 per cent of the country’s total positive cases. A net incline of 1,09,997 cases recorded from the total active caseload in the last 24 hours.

The five states of Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Kerala cumulatively account for 65.02 per cent of India’s total active cases. Maharashtra alone accounts for 38.09 per cent of the total active caseload of the country.

The report comes when India’s daily new cases continue to rise with 2,34,692 new cases registered in the last 24 hours.

10 states including Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan report 79.32 per cent of the new cases.

Maharashtra has reported the highest daily new cases at 63,729. It is followed by Uttar Pradesh with 27,360 while Delhi reported 19,486 new cases.

However, India’s cumulative recoveries stand at 1,26,71,220 on Saturday. The national recovery rate is 87.23 per cent. A total of 1,23,354 recoveries were registered in the last 24 hours.

Continue Reading