Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha Constituency Result 2024 Live: Congress' Varsha Gaikwad Defeats BJP's Ujjwal Nikam

Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha Constituency Result 2024 Live: Congress’ Varsha Gaikwad Defeats BJP’s Ujjwal Nikam

Mumbai: Varsha Gaikwad from Congress has defeated BJP’s Ujjwal Nikam. Gaikwad took the lead in the last few rounds of counting that begun at 8 am. Mumbai North Central constituency voted 51.98% on May 20.

At 4:55 pm

Varsha Gaikwad defeats Ujjwal Nikam by 4,436 votes in Mumbai North Central.

At 4:20 pm

Varsha Gaikwad leads by 3121votes. Gaikwad is leading with 406036 votes, while Nikam is trailing with 402915 votes.

At 3:48 pm

Varsha Gaikwad is in the race again as she leads by 793 votes.

At 3:20 pm

Ujjwal Nikam leads by 6,236 votes. Nikam is leading with 3,84,224 votes, while Gaikwad is trailing with 3,77,988 votes.

At 1:40 pm

Ujjwal Nikam leaders over Varsha Gaikwad by 66,595 votes in Mumbai North Central Loksabha Constituency.

At 12:49 pm

Ujjwal Nikam from BJP leads over Varsha Gaikwad from Congress by 53,710 votes in Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha Constituency.

At 10:56 am

Ujjwal Nikam is leading by 23600 votes.

At 10:10 am

Ujjwal Nikam is leading with 52,810 votes, while Varsha Gaikwad is trailing with 41,522 votes.

At 9:22 am

BJP’s Ujjwal Nikam has taken the lead with 2697 votes against Congress’s Varsha Gaikwad.

At 8:59 am

As per initial trends, Varsha Gaikwad is leading on the seat, while Ujjwal Nikam is trailing.

The Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra are a pivotal event, spanning five phases from April 19 to May 20. Divided into five phases – April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20. Mumbai, along with Palghar, Kalyan, and Thane, voted for a significant electoral showdown on May 20, highlighting the state’s political vibrancy.

Importance Of Mumbai North Central Seat

The electoral landscape of Mumbai North Central constituency, comprising western suburbs such as Bandra, Santacruz, and Vile Parle, embodies socio-economic diversity, with dense populations of both affluent and middle-class citizens. Active participation from the masses is evident, with several citizen manifestos articulating the expectations and concerns of the local populace.

Key Candidates In The Fray

The Maha Vikas Aghadi has nominated Dharavi MLA and Congress leader Varsha Gaikwad as their candidate for the seat. Gaikwad, who also heads the Mumbai Congress unit, has been a vocal advocate for addressing the region’s challenges. However, her nomination was not without drama, involving deliberations among alliance partners.

In contrast, the Mahayuti alliance has fielded renowned public prosecutor Ujjwal Nikam as their candidate. Nikam’s credentials include successfully prosecuting Ajmal Kasab and others in the 26/11 terror attack case, adding a significant profile to the alliance’s candidacy. Notably, BJP decided not to nominate Poonam Mahajan, who secured victories in the 2014 and 2019 elections from the seat.

Results Of Past Elections

In the 2019 elections, BJP’s Poonam Mahajan secured a resounding victory over Congress leader Priya Dutt, with a significant margin of 1,30,005 votes, marking the party’s consecutive win from the constituency. Similarly, in 2014, Mahajan emerged victorious with an impressive margin of 1,86,771 votes against Dutt. However, in 2009, Dutt had defeated BJP’s Mahesh Jethmalani by a margin of 1,74,555 votes.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2024, spanning seven phases from April 19 to June 1, covered 543 constituencies nationwide.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!